November 22, 1963

I have to agree with Cramer. I was one of those Kennedy lovers. I admired him as a senator and was so glad to have him as our president. Some thought it wouldn't happen because he was our first Roman Catholic president but it did. It wasn't just our country that admired him.Many countries throughout the world felt close to him. Portraits of JFK were found in many living rooms and store windows. I remember seeing him and Jackie in Hyannis and in his car visiting Arlington on Veteran's Day just a short time before his assassination. As a young schoolteacher, like many other women I loved Jackie's fashions. We would purchase copies of her pillbox hat and those chic dresses.  I was a teacher in my classroom when he was shot. The principal called me out of the room to tell me the news. He said just to tell my fifth grader that when they got home to turn on the radio.I guess he was afraid they would be too upset if they heard the news.. It was difficult for me to continue teaching knowing what had happened.. I think there was about an hour left of school time and he hadn't died although death seemed imminent. It was a tragedy.

Klinker said:

conandrob240 said:

I have the utmost respect for the institution of the Presidency. I love this country, despite its warts. I’m not sure how it’s “been soiled” since JFK. 
 Nixon?  Clinton?  TRUMP???? If you aren't appalled, you haven't been paying attention.
By contrast, before JFK you had Eisenhower, the man who liberated Europe and, shortly before that FDR.

I didn’t know Nixon as a president. 

Klinker said:
All of which combines with the steady shift of power towards the Presidency and the Executive Branch.  The character and the nature of the institution has been fundamentally altered in the years since 63.