What to read next?

Love Louise Penny's Three Pines series with the Quebec detective. Just finished the third (I prefer to read in order) "The Cruelist Month". Warning labels should be on these books! You can gain weight! There is so much delicious food described washed down with much wine!

Agree with how scary "Defending Jacob" is! Should only be read if the kids are under five or over thirty.

Just started the first in Victoria Thompson's Gaslight series set in old NY.

Ditto on the Three PInes!!!

mcgoey said:

My book club is reading "The Time in Between" by Maria Duenas. I am about 65% in and am enjoying that. Before that the best book we read recently was "The Dovekeepers" - historical fiction about the Masada (sp?) where an outpost of Jews set up in the first century AD. We also really liked "The Marriage Plot"- set in the 1980's around the English dept at Brown University. This one had very well developed characters
Also, I loved Irving's Last Night in Twisted River. I can still visualize the scenes and characters.


The Dovekeepers was written by one of my favorite authors, Alice Hoffman. I'd recommend pretty much anything she's ever written.

Re: Last Night in Twisted River - same for me. Ketchum, especially, was such a vibrant character.


Victoria Thompson's Gaslight series is one of my favorites.

A third vote for Louise Penny, although I've gotten only to the first book -- and loved it. It reminded me a little of PD James. (and that's a good thing)

I've found myself going back to Barbara Pym lately. (Most of her stuff is 1950-1970 or thereabouts) So much fun. Observant, funny, occasionally snide, with great dialogue. Kind of a twentieth century Jane Austen (and that's also a good thing) If you're looking for a specific, try "Jane and Prudence" or "Crampton Hodnet"

So, I'm out of fiction reading now, and it's been a while since I've done a mystery. Should I try Louise penny or Victoria Thompson? If so, which title?

I'm reading Catherine the Great on the Non-Fiction side. I, too, love Alice Hoffman.

campbell29: The first of Louise Penny's Inspector Gamache series is Still Life. I don't know Victoria Thompson so I can't say which author to pick, but Penny's Still Life is a really good read.

Campbell29, two other great mystery series--Kate Atkinson's Jackson Brodie series (Case Histories is the first one) and Tana French's books--not exactly a series but featuring different characters from the Dublin Murder Squad (In the Woods is the first one and the newest one comes out in July).

Another mystery series that I liked is Alan Bradley's Flavia de Luce books--the protagonist is an 11 year old aspiring chemist. They get kind of repetitive but they are still good fun and well written.

I read The Atkinson Jackson Brodie books last year - 4 in a row - loved them. I believe Case Histories was a PBS offering a couple of seasons back. Brodie is a lovable character. Hope another is planned.

bookgirl said:


Another mystery series that I liked is Alan Bradley's Flavia de Luce books--the protagonist is an 11 year old aspiring chemist. They get kind of repetitive but they are still good fun and well written.


I really enjoyed these books.

Is there a Flavia de Luce book which is meant to be read first?

Elizabeth George's!

and either of Laurie King's series, though I'm partial to the Sherlock Holmes-related one.

I've read a bit of Elizabeth George. I do like her. Ive heard of the Sherlock Holmes series, is there a really good one?

I don't know if it matters which one you read first, but the first one is The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.

campbell29, it's best to start with the first one, "The Beekeeper's Apprentice," as the characters and narrative build across the books (9 so far). The basic premise is that Sherlock Holmes is 50ish, and semi-retired to Devon. He comes across a brilliant, bookish, slightly odd teenaged female orphan who becomes his apprentice. Here's a description:

"In 1915, Sherlock Holmes is retired and quietly engaged in the study of honeybees when a young woman literally stumbles into him on the Sussex Downs. Fifteen years old, gawky, egotistical, and recently orphaned, the young Mary Russell displays an intellect to impress even Sherlock Holmes--and match him wit for wit. Under his reluctant tutelage, this very modern twentieth-century woman proves a deft protégée and a fitting partner for the Victorian detective. In their first case together, they must track down a kidnapped American senator's daughter and confront a truly cunning adversary--a bomber who has set trip wires for the sleuths and who will stop at nothing to end their partnership. Full of brilliant deductions, disguises, and dangers, this first book of the Mary Russell--Sherlock Holmes mysteries is "wonderfully original and entertaining . . . absorbing from beginning to end" (Booklist).

http://www.amazon.com/The-Beekeepers-Apprentice-Segregation-Featuring/dp/0312427360/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1339060570&sr=1-1

Adding Beekeeper to my list.

I think you'll really like it, especially if you are a Sherlock fan. Truly one of the best written, novel takes on "the canon." Laurie King's background includes being a very legit Old Testament and middle eastern religions scholar. This comes out in some of the later books, that have as their jumping off point archeologists, anthrologists etc. and their sleuthing.

mtierney said:

I read The Atkinson Jackson Brodie books last year - 4 in a row - loved them. I believe Case Histories was a PBS offering a couple of seasons back. Brodie is a lovable character. Hope another is planned.


I really loved these books. I keep hoping for more.

Loved Denise Mina's Garnet Hill trilogy.

Though I recommended the Jackson Brodie books and I do really like them, Kate Atkinson has written other great books that are totally different and way better than the mysteries. The best one (and my favorite book ever) is Behind the Scenes at the Museum.

My sister-in-law went to a reading and book signing last year and Kate Atkinson said that her next book would be back to the other kind of novels she was writing before the Jackson Brodie series, which I am very excited about!

bookgirl said:

Though I recommended the Jackson Brodie books and I do really like them, Kate Atkinson has written other great books that are totally different and way better than the mysteries. The best one (and my favorite book ever) is Behind the Scenes at the Museum.

My sister-in-law went to a reading and book signing last year and Kate Atkinson said that her next book would be back to the other kind of novels she was writing before the Jackson Brodie series, which I am very excited about!


That's great news! I'm a big fan of her regular novels too.


Love Denise Mina's trilogy, also! Love the tips on authors - Sophie Hannah is on my list!

A few years ago, I started to keep a record of books read, and books and authors to check out! It has helped my not picking up or downloading a book I read already. :/

Just finished reading "Sacre Bleu". A fascinating read if you are into Impressionist Art. Now starting "The Dream Factory" which is about Bell Labs.

bookgirl said:

Though I recommended the Jackson Brodie books and I do really like them, Kate Atkinson has written other great books that are totally different and way better than the mysteries. The best one (and my favorite book ever) is Behind the Scenes at the Museum.

My sister-in-law went to a reading and book signing last year and Kate Atkinson said that her next book would be back to the other kind of novels she was writing before the Jackson Brodie series, which I am very excited about!

Aaaack I'm reading Defending Jacob now and sort of wish I hadn't started but I can't stop. Jeez.

I rec'd Louise Penny/Inspector Gamache on here quite awhile ago and secretly hope that led to more people reading them. I know the settings so well that they are especially fun for me.

I decided to catch up on books I'm been meaning to read for a great while. I wasn't disappointed. These titles may have been mentioned here previously but all three of them haunted my thoughts long after I read the last page:

"A Thousand Splendid Suns" by Khaled Hosseini
"What is the What" by Dave Eggers
"Life of Pi" by Yann Martel

So I'm completely traumatized by Defending Jacob but would love another book that hard to put down. Has anyone read Gone Girl?

Ha,,,, reading it right now, I have about 70 pages left. I really like it, definitely a page turner. If you're looking for another creepy kid book, "We Need to Talk About Kevin" is pretty disturbing.

I started Gone Girl a few nights ago. It's going to be a fun one, I think!

Dotty, I loved those three books, especially What is the What.

campbell29 said:

Ha,,,, reading it right now, I have about 70 pages left. I really like it, definitely a page turner. If you're looking for another creepy kid book, "We Need to Talk About Kevin" is pretty disturbing.


But I have a phobia about Tilda Swinton so I'm afraid of the book :-(

In order to add a comment – you must Join this community – Click here to do so.

Advertise here!

Rentals

Sponsored Business

Find Business