The Uncaged Bird -Hummingbird feeder is up!

blackcat said:

First male Hummingbird spotted in my yard this morning out here in Western Morris County. 
A bear destroyed my regular sunflower feeder the other night so I grabbed a cheapish plastic one at HD. The hummer was hovering near it, confused since it was red. Swapping it out today for a better seed feeder now. 

Wow, Hummingbirds Sunflowers and Bears oh my!

I wonder if they are around and I haven't spotted one. I recall them coming early in the morning and again at dusk. I was outside gardening most of the day but didn't spot them yet.

This morning he was swooping back and forth near the feedersoh oh Claiming them for now. 

This morning at garret fam preserve in cape May 

Tree swallows,mockingbird , ospreys and cowbirds 

oots said:

This morning at garret fam preserve in cape May 

Tree swallows,mockingbird , ospreys and cowbirds 

The Swallow Wow. Wish Cape May were closer. I'm not good with long car rides.

Morganna said:

The Swallow Wow. Wish Cape May were closer. I'm not good with long car rides.

I think I saw barn swallows by Floods Hill the other day if you want a much closer swallow fix. They are lovely birds. 

Cape May pt state park this morning 

yellow throated warbler, killdeer and a greater yellowlegs

oots said:

Cape May pt state park this morning 

yellow throated warbler, killdeer and a greater yellowlegs

Gorgeous photos!

I just saw my first hummingbird (West Orange but only a 1/4 mile from South Orange). I was so excited!

BTW, Morganna, I am not sure how long a car ride you can tolerate but we went to Cattus Island County Park in Toms River (about an hour and a quarter from here) this weekend. Lots of ospreys and swallows. Little thrushes in the brush. They even have an accessible boardwalk that gives great views of the bay/sound/cove.

marylago said:

I just saw my first hummingbird (West Orange but only a 1/4 mile from South Orange). I was so excited!