November 22, 1963

Thanksgiving Getty ImagesKeystone-France

President John F. Kennedy with the turkey, who is ready to be pardoned.

I remember that day so vividly. I was a freshman in high school and the announcements were made over the PA system. Our principal was crying as she made the second announcement, the one of his death. She told us all just to go home, not to wait for dismissal. On the streets and bus going home, everyone was so shocked and quiet. It seemed unreal. Unfortunately, violence became more real in the years to come, but that day it all seemed so impossible.

For a brief shining moment there was Camelot............

Its interesting because, as a child of the 70s, on an emotional level, I have never understood why this event impacted people the way it did.  I suspect that some of the shine of the office of POTUS was lost with Nixon.  

It makes you wonder how things will proceed after Trump.