An A's batter hit a foul pop up near the 3rd base dugout. The Royals third baseman caught it and his momentum carried him into the dugout. The umpire ruled the batter out and then a dead ball where the runners on base advanced--with one scoring.
The rule cited is: Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) of the MLB rulebook, which states:
If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area.
But how does this differ from a right fielder making a catch while falling into the stands? I am pretty sure I have seen runners hold or tag up and no one called a dead ball timeout with runner advancing. Why does this rule suddenly apply here?
Billy Joel tickets $500 More info
Scandinavian Bedroom Furniture $500 More info
Trek Madone 5.2 (size 56) - Great Condition! w/Bontrager Aeolus 3 TLR wheels $699 More info
Marshall Folding Mansion Cage $150 More info
Bugaboo Donkey Double Stroller with toddler stand $125 More info
Sunday August 21st, 9-5 PM. Sports Cards & Comics Memorabilia Yard Sale.2 Greentree Road West Orange Sale Date: Aug 21, 2022 More info
Anna doll - 3 ft $0 More info
Tico's Carpentry & Roofing
Info - Website - Contact
David Jablonka Architect, P.C.
Bornstein Sons, Inc.
Essex & Morris Contracting
Phone: (973) 676-8590
Orange Mattress - Custom Bedding
Phone: (800) 761-1100
Promote your business here - Businesses get highlighted throughout the site and you can add a deal.
Add a free listing for your business